Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest (Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam)

nation Netherlands
city Amsterdam
position Violin 100% (4)
instrument vln
contract type Academy
duration September 1, 2022 - June 30, 2023
closing date Sun 28 November 2021
audition date Mon 15 February 2021



The Academy offers talented young musicians the opportunity to gain experience as orchestral players in one of the world’s leading symphony orchestras.

During the academy course, which starts 1 September 2022, the academists play in up to fifteen programs of the orchestra under the guidance of mentors from the orchestra. In addition, the academists attend private lessons given by the principals, and they play chamber music with fellow academists and with members of the orchestra. They participate in various workshops such as auditioning, educational activities and mental training, and they are offered classes in movement and posture training including Alexander Technique. The academists receive Academy certificates on successful completion of the course.

The Academy offers each participant a salary of 1,689 euros gross per month (10 months).

We require all participants to be present in the Netherlands for the full season (September 2022 through June 2023) and to participate in all activities offered. The academists are responsible for obtaining their health insurance and their housing in Amsterdam.

Who can apply? Musicians who:
• are not older than 26 at 1 September 2022 and
• preferably have a Bachelor’s degree or are studying for a Master’s degree and
• are holding the nationality of a European Union country plus, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Switzerland. Or are in the possession of a valid Dutch working permit.

We require a video with good sound quality. The requested repertoire can be found below!

The Concertgebouworkest reserves the right to make a preliminary selection based on letters / video of application. The results will be communicated by 22 December 2021

mandatory pieces

First round:
Mozart - Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major: exposition first movement (exposition and development, no cadenza)
Mozart Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major: exposition first movement (exposition and development, no cadenza)

optional pieces

Second round:
Beethoven or Brahms or Bruch or Mendelssohn or Sibelius or Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto:
Tchaikovsky: exposition
Sibelius: exposition and cadenza
Beethoven: exposition
Brahms: exposition
Bruch: exposition big tutti until measure 108
Mendelssohn: till cadenza


Copyright © 2021 dbStrings - realized by UbyWeb&Multimedia with uwAdmin
*/ ?>